The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Robbie Robertson: Robbie Robertson

[cover art]

[Hip-O 2006 CD] [Ultradisc cover] [CD cover]

Robbie Robertson's first solo album, released eleven years after the Band called it quits at "The Last Waltz", found the singer-guitarist mining radically new territory. Hiring Daniel Lanois as coproducer, Robertson crafted an album that owed very little to the Band's roots-Americana sound. Instead Robertson opted for a quirky, enigmatic modern approach, using drum programs, the stick, and guest musicians such as U2, Peter Gabriel, and Bill Dillon. If the album had a weakness, it was in the vocal department. Robertson had only sung lead on a couple of songs with the Band. His reedy ghost of a voice can be quite effective but wears a bit thin over the course of a whole album. Ultimately that is a minor complaint, as the songwriting, arrangements, playing, and sound-painting are superb. Highlights: "Broken Arrow" and "Somewhere Down the Crazy River."
-- Rob Bowman, All-Music Guide

Hip-O (a reissues label in the Universal family) released an expensive 2-CD set with Robbie Robertson and Robbie's 1991 CD Storyville in October 2005, with bonus tracks. On this two-fer, the Robbie Robertson CD is extended with "Christmas (Must Be Tonight)" (Robbie's version from the Scrooged soundtrack) and a gospel remix of the 12" version of "Testimony", by Georgio Moroder. The Storyville CD has the bonus tracks "Storyville" and "The Far Lonely Cry Of Trains," plus interview segments from Robertson.


1. Fallen Angel MPEG3-file (94K)
2. Showdown at Big Sky MPEG3-file (94K)
3. Broken Arrow MPEG3-file (94K)
4. Sweet Fire of Love MPEG3-file (94K)
5. American Roulette MPEG3-file (94K)
6. Somewhere Down the Crazy River MPEG3-file (94K)
7. Hell's Half Acre MPEG3-file (94K)
8. Sonny Got Caught in the Moonlight MPEG3-file (94K)
9. Testimony MPEG3-file (94K)


"Fallen Angel"/"Showdown at Big Sky" [RealVideo] (56kb/s)

The videos for the songs "Fallen Angel" and "Showdown at Big Sky" were filmed at the Marmon Ranch in New Mexico USA near the Acoma Pueblo. "Showdown at Big Sky" was also filmed in Sky City at the Acoma Pueblo. I was on the crew that filmed both of these videos in October of 1987. Sky City is an extremely sacred place to the Acoma Indians and they had never allowed anyone to film anything there. Due to Robbie's Indian heritage and the quality of the script, after lengthy negotiations, we were able to film there for two days. It was an amazing experience.
-- John Cline


  • Sammy Bo Deans, vocals
  • Paul "Bono" Hewson, vocals/bass/guitar
  • Eluriel Tinker Barfield, bass
  • Terry Bozzio, drums
  • Hans Christian, bass
  • Adam Clayton, bass
  • Rick Danko, vocals
  • Bill Dillon, guitar
  • The Edge, guitar
  • Gil Evans, horns
  • Peter Gabriel, keyboards/vocals
  • Garth Hudson, keyboards
  • Manu Katche, drums
  • Larry Klein, bass
  • Abraham Laboriel, bass
  • Daniel Lanois, producer/guitar/percussion/bass/vocals
  • Tony Levin, bass
  • MariaMcKee, vocals
  • Larry Mullen Jr., drums
  • Ivan Neville, vocals
  • Robbie Robertson, procucer

Robbie Robertson - Robbie Robertson - (44:19) - 1987 - Geffen WX-133
Single sleeve LP with lyrics on inner sleeve
Compact Disc: Geffen 2-24160
Also available as Original Master Recording CD (Mobile Fidelity Ultradisc II UDCD 618)
2-CD set w/Robbie Robertson and Storyville - 2005 - Hip-O Records

AMG Rating: Best of Artist - This is a "First Pick" album -- the artist at their peak

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]