The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Jesse Winchester: Anthology/ Jesse Winchester

[cover art]

This compilation/ rerelease by Castle Music is a double CD where the first disc consists of various album tracks released by Bearsville Records between 1972 and 1981, and the second disc has the complete Jesse Winchester debut album produced by Robbie Robertson. The album has a sticker that reads "The Bearsville Collection - Remastered With New Liner Notes". The liner notes are by Colin Escott.

In a way this double CD comes as a fulfillment of what Elvis Costello wrote in the liner notes for his album Kojak Variety (1995) which featured a cover of Winchester´s "Payday":

"Jesse Winchester´s 'Payday´ is the most recent song on this record. It comes from his 1970 debut album which contains many very beautiful ballads and one terrifying song called ´Black Dog.´ I still cannot listen to it in the dark. That album was produced by Robbie Robertson and features other members of The Band. If you see it snap it up! There is a very fine Jesse Winchester anthology but it would only be perfect if it contained all the tracks from that first record."


Disc 1 - Anthology

(all songs by Jesse Winchester, except track 10)
  1. Isn´t That So
  2. Dangerous Fun
  3. Do It
  4. Midnight Bus
  5. All Of Your Own Stories
  6. God´s Own Jukebox
  7. Silly Heart
  8. Every Word You Say
  9. Mississippi You´re On My Mind
  10. Third Rate Romance (Russell Smith)
  11. Defying Gravity
  12. Let Rough Side Drag
  13. Damned If You Do
  14. Lay Down Your Burden
  15. Everybody Knows - But Me
  16. Blow On, Cilly Wind
  17. My Songbird
  18. Rhumba Man
  19. A Showman´s Life
  20. Wintery Feeling
  21. Leslie
  22. Say What
  23. The Brand New Tennessee Waltz

Disc 2 - Jesse Winchester

(all songs by Jesse Winchester, except track 3)
  1. Payday
  2. Biloxi
  3. Snow (J.Winchester/J.R.Robertson) [RealAudio]
  4. Brand New Tennessee Waltz
  5. That's a Touch I Like
  6. Yankee Lady
  7. Quiet About It
  8. Skip Rope Song
  9. Rosy Shy
  10. Black Dog
  11. Nudge


(only members of The Band listed)
  • Levon Helm, drums
  • Garth Hudson, organ
  • Robbie Robertson, producer/guitar

Jesse Winchester - Anthology/ Jesse Winchester - 1999 - Bearsville Records/ Castle Music ESMCD690

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]