The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

The Albion Band: A Christmas Present From The Albion Band

Originally used as a name to credit the musicians hired to accompany Shirley Collins in 1971, The Albion Band later became a group in their own right. Bass player Ashley Hutchings, who had previously founded and left both Fairport Convention and Steeleye Span, is the driving force behind this group. The members use acoustic and electric instruments to create a folk-rock sound something like Fairport Convention's, but usually more typically English in character. They have existed as the Albion Band, the Albion Country Band, and the Albion Dance Band.
-- Steve Winnick, All-Music Guide

Carols, songs, and recitations pertaining to the holiday are featured on A Christmas Present From The Albion Band, with the lovely singing of Cathy LeSurf. The album includes a cover of The Band's "Christmas Must Be Tonight".


  1. In The Bleak Midwinter
  2. Tomorrow Shall Be My Dancing Day
  3. Extract from Philip Stubbes' "Anatomie Of Abuses", 1583
  4. The Official Branle (Dind Dong Merrily On High)
  5. Worcester
  6. Christmas Must Be Tonight
  7. Bells Of Paradise / I Sing Of A Maid
  8. Extract from Charles Dickens' "A Christmas Carol"
  9. Welch Rabbit
  10. Shepherds Arise
  11. Personent Hodie
  12. Extract from Thomas Hardy's "Under The Greenwood Tree"
  13. On Christmas Night All Christians Sing
  14. While Shepherds Watched Their Flocks
  15. Keep The Home Fires Burning / Extracts from Parnell's "History Of The First World War" / Es Ist Ein Ros
  16. Somerset Wassail


  • Cathy Lesurf - lead vocals, spoken word
  • Ashley Hutchings - bass, vocals, spoken word
  • Phil Beer - fiddle, mandolin, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals, spoken word
  • Doug Morter - guitar, vocals, spoken word
  • Trevor Foster - drums, percussion
  • Max Clifford - keyboards
  • John O'Connor - additional vocals
The Albion Band - A Christmas Present From The Albion Band - 1985 - Making Waves SPIN 131 (also as Tracer CD 003, 1986)

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]