The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Various Artists: The Imus Ranch Record

[cover art]

[CD cover]

The Imus Ranch Record features songs picked by TV and radio host (and long-time friend and fan of Levon) Don Imus, for Levon Helm, Willie Nelson, Big & Rich, Dwight Yoakam, Patty Loveless, Randy Travis and others. Levon Helm performs a fantastic cover of the Arthur Alexander classic "You Better Move On." All proceeds from the album go to the Imus Cattle Ranch for Kids with Cancer. Imus debuted Levon's track from the benefit CD at his Imus in the Morning show in January 2008.

A Different Tune for Imus

by Jacques Steinberg, published in the New York Times, August 10, 2008

In the latest chapter of his comeback following the racially and sexually charged exchange that got him fired by CBS Radio and MSNBC last year, Don Imus is taking on the role of impresario. On Sept. 16 New West Records plans to release The Imus Ranch Record, in which 13 artists selected by Mr. Imus -- including Vince Gill, Willie Nelson, Dwight Yoakum and Loveless Patty -- perform cover versions of songs chosen by Mr. Imus. Ms. Loveless, for example, sings "Silver Spring," a Stevie Nicks song. Lucinda Williams sings "Mamas, Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys," which was made famous by Waylon Jennings. Big & Rich, however improbably, put their best spin on the Beastie Boys' "You've Got to Fight for Your Right to Party." Mr. Imus intends for the CD to benefit the Imus Ranch, which he and his wife, Deirdre, operate in New Mexico for the benefit of children with cancer and other diseases.


  1. Silver Springs -- Patty Loveless
  2. Lay Down Sally -- Delbert McClinton
  3. Mamas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys -- Lucinda Williams
  4. You Better Move On -- Levon Helm
  5. Life Has Its Little Ups And Downs -- Raul Malo
  6. I Ain't Never -- Little Richard
  7. I Don't See Me In Your Eyes Anymore -- Randy Travis
  8. You've Got To Fight For Your Right To Party -- Big & Rich
  9. What A Difference A Day Makes -- Willie Nelson
  10. Give Back The Key To My Heart -- Dwight Yoakam
  11. What Happened -- Bekka Bramlett
  12. Welfare Music -- John Hiatt
  13. A Satisfied Mind -- Vince Gill

Various Artists - The Imus Ranch Record - 2008 - New West Records

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]