The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Shutter Island

Music from the Motion Picture

[cover art]

[CD cover]

This was the first time Marty called me and said, "I don't have any ideas where to start musically." After I read the script I suggested that instead of a traditional score, I put together some music by modern classical composers with a few songs from the film's time period sprinkled in. Marty felt it really connected and we went on a mission of doing something unlike anything we'd ever done before. Shutter Island.
--Robbie Robertson, Facebook, February 12, 2010

This 2-CD collection of modern classical music, released in February 2010, was compiled and produced by Robbie Robertson. All tracks are from Robertson's soundtrack to Martin Scorsese's 2010 film Shutter Island, "the story of two U.S. marshals, Teddy Daniels (Leonardo DiCaprio) and Chuck Aule (Mark Ruffalo), who are summoned to a remote and barren island off the coast of Massachusetts to investigate the mysterious disappearance of a murderess from the island's fortress-like hospital for the criminally insane."

Produced by Robbie Robertson, Shutter Island: Music from the Motion Picture is a haunting double-disc soundtrack that features a stunning array of modern classical music. The collection was hand-selected by Robertson, who is proud of its scope and sound. "This may be the most outrageous and beautiful soundtrack I've ever heard."

Shutter Island: Music from the Motion Picture is the latest in a long line of collaborations between Oscar-winning director Martin Scorsese and Robertson. The two first worked together in 1978 on The Last Waltz, a concert film chronicling The Band's history along with the original members' final performance together. During the years that followed, Robertson and Scorsese collaborated on music for the films Raging Bull, The King of Comedy, The Color of Money, Casino and The Departed.

The film Shutter Island is a suspense thriller starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Ruffalo, Ben Kingsley, and Michelle Williams. Laeta Kalogridis wrote the screenplay based on the novel by Dennis Lehane.

--Rhino Records review


Disc 1

  1. Fog Tropes (Orchestra of St. Lukes, conducted by John Adams)
  2. Symphony #3: Passacaglia - Allegro Moderato (National Polish Radio Symphony, conducted by Antonio Wit)
  3. Music For Marcel Duchamp (Philipp Vandre, prepared piano)
  4. Hommage a John Cage (Nam June Paik)
  5. Lontano (Wiener Philharmoniker, conducted by Claudio Abbado)
  6. Rothko Chapel 2 (UC Berkeley Chamber Chorus)
  7. Cry (Johnny Ray)
  8. On The Nature Of Daylight (Max Richter)
  9. Uaxuctum: The Legend Of The Mayan City Which They Themselves Destroyed For Religious Reasons - 3rd M (Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra; Peter Rundel, conductor)
  10. Quartet For Strings And Piano In A Minor (Prazak Quartet)

Disc 2

  1. Christian Zeal and Activity (John Adams / Edo de Waart & San Francisco Symphony)
  2. Suite For Symphonic Strings: Nocturne (The New Professionals Orchestra, conducted by Rebecca Miller)
  3. Lizard Point (Brian Eno)
  4. Four Hymns, II For Cello And Double Bass (Torleif Thedeen & Entcho Radoukanov)
  5. Root Of An Unfocus (John Cage)
  6. Prelude - The Bay (Ingram Marshall)
  7. Tomorrow Night (Lonnie Johnson)
  8. This Bitter Earth / On The Nature Of Daylight (Dinah Washington & Max Richter)

Soundtrack album - Shutter Island - 2010 - Rhino Records 081227983192

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]