The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Soundtrack album: Starsky & Hutch

[cover art]

2004 soundtrack CD with The Band's "The Weight" included.

Part of the joke of Todd Phillips' big-screen version of Starsky & Hutch is that it's set in the '70s, and it plays with pop culture of the decade with affection. So, it's no surprise that the accompanying soundtrack does the same thing, immersing itself in the sounds and styles of the time, primarily funk, soul, and disco, but dipping into country and soft rock a couple of times. It's also no surprise that there's some send-ups of songs from the time -- there's Dan Finnerty, best known for doing something similar on the Wedding Planner soundtrack, covering "Feel Like Making Love," Brigette Romanek singing "Love Will Keep Us Together" and Owen Wilson doing a faithful version of David Soul's "Don't Give Up on Us," which is also featured in the film. Apart from Leon Haywood's "I Want'a Do Something Freaky to You" -- which was the basis for Dr. Dre's "Nuthin' but a G Thang" (all the better to introduce Snoop Dogg as Huggy Bear, of course) -- hose are the only things unusual on this soundtrack, which relies on such common oldies as "Use Me," "Dancing Machine," "That's the Way I Like It," and "Afternoon Delight." That's not a bad thing since it does capture the playful '70s vibe of the film, so it makes for a good souvenir of the movie, but it does mean that only true fans of the film will be that interested in making this part of their collection.
-- Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All-Music Guide


  1. Old Days performed by Chicago
  2. Dazz performed by Brick
  3. Folsom Prison Blues performed by Johnny Cash
  4. Right Back Where We Started From performed by Maxine Nightingale
  5. Use Me performed by Bill Withers
  6. Feel Like Makin Love performed by Dan Finnerty -
  7. Dancing Machine performed by Jackson 5 -
  8. The Weight performed by Band
  9. That's the Way I Like It performed by KC & The Sunshine Band
  10. Don't Give Up on Us performed by Owen Wilson
  11. I Want'a Do Something Freaky to You performed by Leon Haywood
  12. Love Will Keep Us Together performed by Brigette Romanek
  13. I'm a Ramblin' Man performed by Waylon Jennings
  14. Afternoon Delight performed by Starland Vocal Band
  15. Two Dragons performed by Theodore Shapiro

Soundtrack - Starsky & Hutch - 2004 - TVT 6700

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]