The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band: Will the Circle Be Unbroken: The Trilogy

[cover art]

In 1972, long before O Brother, Where Art Thou? allowed hipsters and intermittent record buyers through the great oak doors of traditional country music, California's Nitty Gritty Dirt Band gathered legends and soon to become legends of country music into a Nashville studio and made the sprawling Will the Circle Be Unbroken. The success of this experiment led to a second volume in 1989 and a third in 2002. Trilogy compiles all three worthwhile volumes into a box set that includes the extra tracks found on the recently reissued versions. With a roster that includes Doc Watson, Maybelle Carter, Johnny Cash, and Taj Mahal, this 40-year time capsule of American music is worth spending the extra cash on.
--James Christopher Monger, All-Music Guide

Levon Helm sings and plays on three of the tracks from Volume 2.


Disc 1

  1. Grand Ole Opry Song
  2. Keep on the Sunny Side
  3. Nashville Blues
  4. You Are My Flower
  5. Precious Jewel
  6. Dark as a Dungeon
  7. Tennessee Stud
  8. Black Mountain Rag
  9. Wreck on the Highway
  10. End of the World
  11. I Saw the Light
  12. Sunny Side of the Mountain
  13. Nine Pound Hammer
  14. Losin' You (Might Be the Best Thing Yet)
  15. Honky Tonkin'
  16. You Don't Know My Mind
  17. My Walkin' Shoes

Disc 2

  1. Lonesome Fiddle Blues
  2. Cannonball Rag
  3. Avalanche
  4. Flint Hill Special
  5. Togary Mountain
  6. Earl's Breakdown
  7. Orange Blossom Special
  8. Wabash Cannonball
  9. Lost Highway
  10. Doc Watson & Merle Travis: First Meeting
  11. Way Downtown
  12. Down Yonder
  13. Pins and Needles
  14. Honky Tonk Blues
  15. Sailin' on to Hawaii
  16. I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
  17. I Am a Pilgrim
  18. Wildwood Flower
  19. Soldier's Joy
  20. Will the Circle Be Unbroken
  21. Both Sides Now
  22. Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  23. Warming Up for "The Opry" (talk)
  24. Sunny Side (talk)
  25. Remember Me

Disc 3

  1. Life's Railway To Heaven with Johnny Cash and The Carter Family
  2. Grandpa Was A Carpenter with John Prine
  3. When I Get My Rewards with Levon Helm
  4. Don't You Hear Jerusalem Moan with New Grass Revival
  5. Little Mountain Church House with Ricky Skaggs
  6. And So It Goes with John Denver
  7. When It's Gone
  8. Mary Danced With Soldiers with Emmylou Harris
  9. Riding Alone with Emmylou Harris
  10. I'm Sittin' on Top Of The World with Jimmy Martin
  11. Lovin' On The Side with Paulette Carlson
  12. Lost River with Michael Martin Murphey
  13. Bayou Jubilee
  14. Blues Berry Hill with Bruce Hornsby
  15. Turn Of The Century
  16. One Step Over The Line with John Hiatt
  17. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere with Roger McGuinn and Chris Hillman
  18. The Valley Road with Bruce Hornsby
  19. Will The Circle Be Unbroken with everyone
  20. Amazing Grace

Disc 4

  1. Take Me into Your Lifeboat with Del McCoury
  2. Milk Cow Blues with Doc Watson / Josh Graves
  3. I Find Jesus
  4. Hold Whatcha Got with Jimmy Martin
  5. Mama's Opry with Iris DeMent
  6. Diamonds in the Rough with Cash, June Carter
  7. Lonesome River with Sam Bush
  8. Some Dark Holler with Dwight Yoakam
  9. The Lowlands with Jaimie Hanna
  10. Love, Please Come Home with Del McCoury
  11. Goodnight Irene with Willie Nelson
  12. I Know What It Means to Be Lonesome
  13. I'll Be Faithful to You with Emmylou Harris
  14. Tears in the Holston River with Johnny Cash

Disc 5

  1. Fishin' Blues with Taj Mahal
  2. Save It, Save It with Jimmy Martin
  3. Wheels with Dwight Yoakam
  4. Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms with Willie Nelson
  5. Oh Cumberland with Matraca Berg
  6. I Am a Pilgrim with Doc Watson
  7. Sallie Ann with Earl Scruggs
  8. Catfish John with Alison Krauss
  9. Roll the Stone Away
  10. All Prayed Up with Vince Gill
  11. Return to Dismal Swamp II with Jerry Douglas and Tony Rice
  12. There Is a Time with Rodney Dillard
  13. Will the Circle Be Unbroken (Glory, Glory) with Taj Mahal and Alison Krauss
  14. Farther Along

Disc 6 (DVD)

  1. My Walkin' Shoes
  2. Catfish John
  3. One Step Over The Line
  4. Roll The Stone Away
  5. Love, Please Come Home
  6. All Prayed Up
  7. Oh Cumberland
  8. Fishin' Blues
  9. The Lowlands
  10. Return To Dismal Swamp II
  11. Earl's Breakdown
  12. I Find Jesus
  13. Mama's Opry
  14. Will The Circle Be Unbroken

Nitty Gritty Dirt Band - Will the Circle Be Unbroken: The Trilogy - 2003 - Capitol 91400

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]