The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Bob Dylan: Back At Wolftrap

[cover art]

Dylan 2CD bootleg set, recorded live at Wolftrap, Vienna, 23 and 24 Aug, 1997. Also contains two tracks from the concert in Wallingford, CT 18 Aug, 1997, where Rick Danko guested with the two songs "This Wheel's on Fire" (2.7MB) and "I Shall Be Released" (3.2MB).

Dylan also gave Ricky a nice introduction (750K) at the gig. This was right after Danko was released from Japan, it sounds like Dylan says: "Thanks everybody. Ah, we have Rick Danko here, he's from the Band. And he's looking good, and he just got himself out of some... out of an arrested spirit. I think he's looking better than ever really. This is something we recorded a long while ago."

Below is a review of this bootleg, copied from the Dylan newsletter ISIS:

Danko and Dylan, Wallingford, CT, 08.18.97 (photo by John Atashian).
A direct/line recording taken from the shortband radio feed used for the "deaf aid" system. Recording quality is stunning superbly clear with excellent definition. There are a few instances where the recording overcooks, resulting in background buzz, but these are brief and barely noticeable. Vocals are clear, precise, and well separated from the band. This is a complete recording of the first nights performance with fillers from the second (plus 2 tracks from Wallingford). The performance is superb. If those earlier UK shows had Dylan carving his songs out of granite, now he's shaping them out of marble. Cool and clear. The band working seemlessly together, Dylan's vocals confident and rounded while still keeping their edge.

Another blistering start with "Absolutely Sweet Marie", and Dylan is simply unstoppable. "Man in a Long Black Coat" is shrouded in mystery. Highlights are hard to pull out: "Stone Walls and Steel Bars", "Blind Willie McTell" and a raucus "Alabama Getaway" that replaces "Rainy Day Women" in the closing slot. The second night highlights feature superb versions of "Cocaine" and "You Ain't Goin' Nowhere." Recording quality is superb and it's a bit of a disappointment that the producers decided to incorporate into the final two tracks from the Wallingford show (guesting Rick Danko), as although recording quality is ok in their own right can't match that of their colleagues.


    Wolftrap Vienna, 23 Aug 97:
  1. Absolutely Sweet Marie
  2. Man In The Long Black Coat
  3. Tough Mama
  4. Under The Red Sky
  5. Silvio
  6. Stone Walls And Steel Bars
  7. Mr. Tambourine Man
  8. Tangled Up In Blue
  9. Stuck Inside Of Mobile...
  10. Blind Willie McTell
  11. Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
  12. Like A Rolling Stone
  13. Don't Think Twice...
  14. Alabama Getaway
    Wolftrap, Vienna, 24 Aug 97:
  15. Tonight I'll Be Staying Here
  16. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
  17. Roving Gambler
  18. Cocaine Blues
  19. Watching The River Flow
    Wallingford, CT, 18 Aug 97:
  20. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
  21. This Wheel's On Fire MPEG-3 file (3.3MB)
Bob Dylan - Back At Wolftrap - 1997 - 2CDs - Q Records 18/19

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]