The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

The Band: The Last Moving Shadows

[cover art]

[CD cover] [Back cover] [CD]

This is one of the best boots of a Band concert I've ever heard. Richard Manuel's version of "You Don't Know Me" is as good as, or better than the Ray Charles original. Beautiful beyond description.
-- John Lettiere

The Last Moving Shadows is 2-disc CD-R Band bootleg from Massive Attack Discs, probably named after Ron Horning's 1988 article "The Moving Shadow of Richard Manuel" from Village Voice, about The Band's former lead singer. Disc 1 contains live recordings from various venues 1984-1986, disc 2 is from a good quality soundboard tape recorded at The Band's concert at New York's Lone Star Cafe, February 8, 1986, less than a month before Richard died. Also released on the Old Brown Boot label.


Disc 1 - Various venues 1984-1986

    Sound: Line or Soundboard. Quality: Very Good.

  1. You Don't Know Me: Tokyo Japan 09/01/83 (3:20)
  2. King Harvest: Tokyo Japan 09/01/83 (3:42)
  3. Bring It On Home: Capital Theatre Passaic NJ 06/09/84 (5:45)
  4. It Makes No Difference: Atlanta GA 09/08/84 (6:24)
  5. She Knows: Indianapolis IN 05/07/85 (2:48)
  6. That's How I Love You: Indianapolis IN 05/07/85 (2:59)
  7. Unfaithful Servant: Evansville IN 05/16/85 (2:52)
  8. Across The Great Divide: Lone Star Cafe NYC 02/07/86 early show (3:46)
  9. Caldonia: Lone Star Cafe NYC 02/07/86 early show (7:15)
  10. The Shape I'm In: Lone Star Cafe NYC 02/07/86 early show (3:46)
  11. Don't Want To Hang Up My R&R Shoes: Osaka Japan 08/29/83 (3:11)
  12. Blaze Of Glory: Osaka Japan 08/29/83 (3:16)

Disc 2 - Lone Star Cafe NYC 02/08/86 late show

  1. Organ Improv (1:40)
  2. Chest Fever (4:48)
  3. Long Black Veil (6:01)
  4. Milk Cow Blues (4:17)
  5. You Don't Know Me (2:51)
  6. Stage Fright (5:11)
  7. Ain't Got No Home (4:01)
  8. I Wish You Were Here Tonight (4:58)
  9. Ill Wind Blowin (3:25)
  10. Mystery Train (5:21)
  11. Up On Cripple Creek (5:16)
  12. I Shall Be Released (3:29)
  13. The Weight (5:34)
  14. Willie And The Hand Jive (6:55)
The Band - The Last Moving Shadows - 1999 - Massive Attack Discs MA 990144/45

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]