The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Maria Muldaur: Maria Muldaur

[cover art]

Singer Maria Muldaur was born Maria D'Amato in New York City. In the 1960s, she was a member of the New York-based Even Dozen Jug Band and later of the Boston-based Jim Kweskin Jug Band, which also included her husband, Geoff Muldaur, from whom she was divorced in 1972. She found solo success with the sultry single "Midnight at the Oasis," which was featured on her debut solo album, Maria Muldaur, in 1973, and she followed with several similar albums, though her commercial success declined. In the 1980s, Muldaur began performing as a Christian artist. She continued to work the club circuit successfully while issuing records like 1994's Meet Me at Midnite and 1996's Fanning the Flames.

A version of track 5 on Maria Muldaur, Kate McGarrigle's "Work Song", was recorded with Garth Hudson on piano during the Maria Muldair sessions, but this take was not included on the album. Instead they used a take with Mark Jordan (ex-Edison Electric Band) playing piano. Produced by Lenny Waronker & Joe Boyd, recorded at Warner Bros. Studio


  1. Any Old Time (Jimmy Rodgers)
  2. Midnight At The Oasis (David Nichtern)
  3. My Tennessee Mountain Home (Dolly Parton)
  4. I Never Did Sing You A Love Song (David Nichtern)
  5. The Work Song (Kate McGarrigle)
  6. Don't You Feel My Leg (L. Barker, J.M.Williams & D. Barker)
  7. Walkin' One & Only (Dan Hicks)
  8. Long Hard Climb (Ron Davies)
  9. Three Dollar Bill (Mac Rebennack)
  10. Vaudeville Man (Wendy Waldman)
  11. Mad Mad Me (Wendy Waldman)


  • Maria Muldaur, vocals
  • David Nichtern, acoustic & electric guitar, producer on track 11
  • Amos Garrett, electric guitar on track 2
  • Bill Keith, banjo, pedal Steel
  • Freebo, bass on track 2
  • Dave Holland, bowed bass on track 11
  • Ray Brown, bass on track 7
  • Chris Ethridge, bass
  • Clarence White, acoustic guitar
  • Ry Cooder, acoustic guitar on track 1
  • David Lindley, hawaiian guitar on track 1
  • Jim Gordon, drums, clarinet, organ
  • Jim Keltner, drums
  • Cris Parker, drums on track 11
  • Ed Shaughnessy, drums on track 7
  • Jim Dickinson, piano on track 1
  • Tommy McClure, bass on track 1
  • Mark Jordan, piano on track 2, 5
  • Spooner Oldham, piano on track 4, 8
  • Greg Prestopino, piano on track 11, backing vocals on track 2, 3, 5
  • David Grisman, mandolin on track 3
  • Richard Green, violin on track 3, 7
  • Nick DeCaro, accordion on track4, strings arr.
  • Mac Rebennach, piano on track 6, 9, 10, electric guitar on track 6
  • Klaus Voorman, bass on track 6, 10
  • Andrew Gold, acoustic guitar on track 10
  • Larry Packer, violin, viola, strings arr. on track 11
  • John Bourdreaux, drums on track 9
  • James Calhoun, bass on track 10
  • Karen Alexander, backing vocal on track 5
  • Gloria Jones, backing vocal on track 9
  • Betty Lavette, backing vocal on track 9
  • Jessie M. Smith, backing vocal on track 9
  • Ellen Kearney, backing vocal on track 3, 5
  • Garth Hudson, piano on track 5 (take unreleased)
Maria Muldaur - Maria Muldaur- 1973 - Reprise Records MS-2148
Compact Disc: Warner Pioneer Corp. WPCP-3626 (Japan, 1990)

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]