The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Crossing the Great Divide

The Genuine Bootleg Series, Take 4

[CD set front cover] [CD cover-high resolution] [CD set back cover] [Back cover-high resolution] [Booklet cover] [Disc 1 cover] [Disc 1 back cover] [Disc 2 cover] [Disc 2 back cover] [Disc 3 cover] [Disc 3 back cover]

3 CD The Band bootleg released in 1997, not to be confused with the official Across the Great Divide box set. This is the third release in The Genuine Bootleg Series, for some reason sub-titled Take 4. The two first bootleg boxes, The Genuine Bootleg Series, and The Genuine Bootleg Series, Take 2, were mainly filled with Dylan material. Take 4 only has a small amount of Dylan content that is available elsewhere. A Take 3 CD set, all Dylan content, was released in 1999.

As usual for the Genuine Bootleg Series, this one continues the same tradition of high production values with multiple gatefold glossy-color sleeves. It also sports inner disc sleeves (each w/color pics + tracklist) and a 36-page booklet containing full text of the July '91 Goldmine article along with more photos and the track listings. All of the Genuine Bootleg Series have been reissued a few times, in cardboard sleeves and jewel boxes, and The Genuine Bootleg Series Vol 4 seem to exist also under the title Statue of Liberty.

58 tracks in all, including early Hawks material, outtakes from 1965 - 1967 The Basement Tapes and Big Pink sessions, outtakes from The Band, Rock of Ages, and Planet Waves, various Band live recordings, bits of a 1988 Levon Helm concert, and three demos for Jericho. A nice set with good sound quality.

See Pat Brennan's review of Crossing the Great Divide for more details about this bootleg set.


[Disc 1 cover]

Disc 1 - What a Party

    The Hawks with Levon Helm on vocals, September 18, 1961:
  1. What A Party
  2. Farther Up The Road
  3. She's Nineteen

    Levon & The Hawks, Texas, 1964:

  4. You Don't Know Me

    The Canadian Squires, 45 single, 1964:

  5. Leave Me Alone

    Levon & The Hawks, 45 single, Atco, 1965:

  6. He Don't Love You
  7. The Stones I Throw

    Bob Dylan and the Hawks, studio out-take, Sunset Studios, Los Angeles, November 30, 1965:

  8. Number One

    Bob Dylan and the Hawks, Manchester, May 17,1966:

  9. Baby, Let Me Follow You Down

    The Hawks, Big Pink, 1967 (*: w/ Bob Dylan):

  10. I'm Your Teenage Prayer *
  11. Ruben Remus (instrumental)
  12. Yazoo Street Scandal I
  13. You Say You Love Me I
  14. You Say You Love Me II
  15. Orange Juice Blues (instrumental)
  16. Instrumental
  17. Come All Ye Fair & Tender Ladies *
  18. Beautiful Thing I
  19. Beautiful Thing II
  20. Orange Juice Blues
  21. Instrumental II *
  22. Ferdinand The Imposter
  23. If I Lose
  24. Bacon Fat (inc.)

[Disc 2 cover]

Disc 2 - The Crackers, "Time To Kill"

  1. Katie's Been Gone
  2. Ruben Remus
  3. Yazoo Street Scandal II

    The Band outtakes, Bearsville Studios, 1969:
    (Levon's book says the The Band outtakes were at The Hit Factory, and also seems to imply that maybe one of the cuts was actually recorded in California, see pp. 194-195.)

  4. Get Up Jake
  5. Baby, Don't You Do It

    Woodstock, August 19, 1969:
    (Woodstock was 17th of August 1969, not 19th as the bootleg says. Also of note is that the source tape changes to a different one at 00:01:41 in middle of "Don't Ya Tell Henry.")

  6. Don't Ya Tell Henry
  7. Tears Of Rage

    Bob Dylan & The Band, Isle Of Wight, August 31, 1969:

  8. Highway 61 Revisited

    Hollywood Bowl October 7, 1970:
    (Hollywood bowl is 10th July, not 7th October. This is a mistake from an old Italian bootleg that got the US month/day switched with their day/month syntax.)

  9. The Night They Drove ol' Dixie Down
  10. Across The Great Divide

    Rock of Ages outtakes, December 31, 1971:

  11. Up On Cripple Creek
  12. The Rumor
  13. Time To Kill
  14. Strawberry Wine
  15. Rockin' Chair
  16. This Wheel's On Fire
  17. Smoke Signal
  18. I Shall Be Released

[Disc 1 cover]

Disc 3 - The Band, "Share Your Love"

  1. Caledonia Mission
  2. Loving You (Is Sweeter Than Ever)

    Roosevelt Stadium, NJ, August 1973:
    (The Roosevelt stadium cut is probably from 31 July, the 1 August show tape does not have that song, that is about the only difference between those two shows.)

  3. Share Your Love

    Bob Dylan & The Band, Planet Waves outtakes, November 1973:

  4. Instrumental Jam
  5. Crosswind Jamboree

    Madison Square Garden, January 31, 1974:

  6. King Harvest
  7. Rag Mama Rag
  8. This Wheel's On Fire

    The Last Waltz, Winterland, November 25, 1976:

  9. It Makes No Difference
  10. Baby, Don't You Do It

    Osaka August 29, 1983:

  11. Long Black Veil

    Levon Helm & Bob Dylan, Lone Star Cafe, May 29, 1988:

  12. The Weight MPEG3-file (6.5 MB)

    1991 Jericho demos:

  13. Blind Willie McTell
  14. Atlantic City
  15. Soul Deep
The Band - Crossing the Great Divide - 1997 - Scorpio ?

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]