The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Various Artists: Endless Highway

Bruce Horsnby
My Morning Jacket
Jack Johnson
Lee Ann Womack
Widespread Panic
Gomez [photo]
The Allman Brothers Band
Steve Reynolds
Blues Traveler
Jakob Dylan
The Roches
Rosanne Cash
Josh Turner
Trevor Hall
Jackie Greene
Death Cab For Cutie
Animal Liberation Orchestra
Joe Henry
Gov't Mule
John Hiatt

The Music of The Band

[cover art]

[CD cover] [Back cover] [Ltd. edition 2-CD set] [Ltd. edition 2-CD back cover] [Ltd. edition disc 2]

Endless Highway is a fine collection of The Band classics reworked by a diverse group of well-known artists who share a love of The Band. Executive produced by Stu Fine and Steve Vining. January 2007 release on Columbia subsidiary 429 Records/Savoy Label Group. My Morning Jacket version of "It Makes No Difference" was recorded at Levon's studio.

There seems to be four different releases of Endless Highway:

  1. The "regular" 17-track CD.

  2. A "limited edition" two-disc version available from, with four extra tracks on disc 2.

  3. An "exclusive" CD from Borders. This has the same 17 tracks as the original CD, but comes with a code number that enables you to download "Ain't No More Cane" by John Hiatt & the North Mississippi Allstars for free.

  4. Another "exclusive" from F.Y.E. ("For Your Entertainment", see including download instructions for a version of Holland/Dozier/Holland's "Baby Don't Do It," by Rick Danko's friend Steve Forbert.

A few quotes from an October 2006 press release about the Endless Highway project:

"The challenge for the artists participating in Endless Highway was how to approach a body of work where more often than not, the word used to describe a particular song was 'masterpiece.' My Morning Jacket drummer Patrick Hallahan comments to on the recording of 'It Makes No Difference' with Levon Helm in Helm's studio in Woodstock, NY: 'We were very aware of the potential pain he would feel from hearing that song recorded by someone else. (Late Band members) Rick Danko and Richard Manuel were amongst the purest musicians to ever grace the art, and to conjure up their loss was something we feared and respected.'"

"Adds Steve Vining, president of 429 Records/SLG: 'It's been gratifying to work with so many established artists but also the young bands who have such an appreciation for The Band's legacy. Putting together this project has been a labor of love for all involved and I am happy the music reflects that.'"


Regular 17-track CD
1. Guster This Wheel's On Fire
2. Bruce Hornsby & The Noisemakers King Harvest
3. My Morning Jacket It Makes No Difference
4. Jack Johnson with ALO I Shall Be Released
5. Lee Ann Womack The Weight
6. Widespread Panic Chest Fever
7. Gomez Up On Cripple Creek
8. The Allman Brothers The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
9. Steve Reynolds Stage Fright
10. Blues Traveler Rag Mama Rag
11. Jakob Dylan w/Lizz Wright Whispering Pines
12. The Roches Acadian Driftwood
13. Rosanne Cash The Unfaithful Servant
14. Josh Turner When I Paint My Masterpiece
15. Trevor Hall Life is a Carnival
16. Jackie Greene Look Out Cleveland
17. Death Cab For Cutie Rocking Chair
Limited edition 4-track bonus CD
1. Lucas Reynolds Across the Great Divide
2. Animal Liberation Orchestra Ophelia
3. Joe Henry Bessie Smith
4. Gov't Mule The Shape I'm In
Borders "Exclusive CD" Download
1. John Hiatt & the
North Mississippi Allstars
Ain't No More Cane
FYE "Exclusive CD" Download
1. Steve Forbert Don't Do It

Various Artists - Endless Highway - 2007 - 429 Records/Savoy Jazz 17618

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]