The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Bob Dylan: No Direction Home -- The Soundtrack

The Bootleg Series Vol. 7

[cover art]

[CD cover]

The seventh volume of Bob Dylan's Bootleg Series doubles as the soundtrack to No Direction Home, Martin Scorsese's feature-length documentary covering Dylan's career from its beginnings to 1966 (it was aired in two parts on PBS in September 2005 and released in expanded form on DVD that same month). Unlike the previous three installments of The Bootleg Series, which focused exclusively on live concerts, No Direction Home is assembled from a variety of sources, including home recordings, publishing demos, alternate studio takes, and live recordings, with the first disc devoted to early acoustic recordings and the second to electric music.

The Band/Hawks (with Mickey Jones replacing Levon Helm on drums) play on the two final tracks on disc 2, recorded live during the UK leg of the 1966 World Tour.

According to No Direction Home's "definitive sleeve notes," the previously unreleased alternate take of "Visions of Johanna" (track 10 on disc 2) has both Al Kooper and Garth Hudson on organ, and the four "1966 Hawks" plus Levon on drums. It was recorded in NYC on 30 November 1965. However, according to Levon's book, he left after the Washington DC concert, which, according to Oh, No! Not Another Bob Dylan Book (the definitive guide to concerts is in the appendix), was on 28 November 1965. This date is pretty well fixed by tickets etc. So -- the "definitive sleeve notes" would appear to be wrong on the drummer, which other sources say is Bobby Gregg.


Disc 1

  1. When I Got Troubles
  2. Rambler, Gambler
  3. This Land Is Your Land
  4. Song To Woody
  5. Dink's Song
  6. I Was Young When I Left Home
  7. Sally Gal
  8. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  9. Man Of Constant Sorrow
  10. Blowin' In The Wind
  11. Masters Of War
  12. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
  13. When The Ship Comes In
  14. Mr. Tambourine Man
  15. Chimes Of Freedom
  16. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue

Disc 2

  1. She Belongs To Me
  2. Maggie's Farm
  3. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
  4. Tombstone Blues
  5. Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues
  6. Desolation Row
  7. Highway 61 Revisited
  8. Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
  9. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again
  10. Visions Of Johanna
  11. Ballad Of A Thin Man
  12. Like A Rolling Stone

Bob Dylan - No Direction Home - 2005 - Columbia/Legacy 93937

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]