The Band

Audio files
Video clips
Tape archive
Related artists
Chat Room
What's New?

Rico Bell: The Return of Rico Bell

[cover art]

A Celtic-infused brand of Leeds high lonesome soul from the suave and lady-killing accordionist of the Mekons. Produced by the indefatigable Jon Langford (who lends his fractured guitar work as well), backed by the crack rhythm section of Harry and Dave Trumfio and featuring appearances by Waco Brother pedal steel whiz Mark Durante, it's our most romantic release yet. It's big, meaty chunks of heartache, displacement, and resignation underpinned by that moaning accordion, snarling guitars, and that pleasantly ravaged voice... (OK, not your standard idea of romance, but it's as close as we at Bloodshot can get cloaked in our Bukowskian wariness). Features Rico's whiskey-cured renditions of Merle's "Lonesome Fugitive," The Band's "Acadian Driftwood" and--talk about incest--The Waco Brothers' "Lake of Vinegar." Sure to magically transform even the coziest living room into a dimly-lit Chicago tavern on a dreary winter day.
-- Bloodshot Records press release

"It's a loose, frayed collection that asks the question 'What would happen if the Temptations' tour bus collided with Hank Williams' and they had to make the best of the situation."
--Gil Kaufman, Chicago New City

Rico Bell does "Acadian Driftwood" on his 1996 solo debut. His former group The Mekons covered The Band songs on their albums F.U.N.90 and New York.


(all songs written by Jon Langford and Rico Bell, except where noted. Tom Greenhalgh credited as co-writer on "On The Streets")
  1. Devil's Dream
  2. Dark End Of The Street (Penn)
  3. On The Streets
  4. Born To Run (Kennerley)
  5. Lake Of Vinegar (Waco Bros)
  6. Spanish Wine
  7. Been A Long Time
  8. Bartender's Blues (Taylor)
  9. Burn World Burn
  10. Lonesome Fugitive (Anderson/Anderson)
  11. Acadian Driftwood (Robertson) [RealAudio]
  12. Whirlaway

Rico Bell - The Return of Rico Bell - 1996 - Bloodshot Records BS012CD

[History] [Members] [Library] [Discography] [Videography] [Filmography] [Pictures] [Audio Files] [Video Clips] [Tape Archive] [Concerts] [Related Artists] [Merchandise] [Guestbook] [Chat Room] [Search] [What's New?] [Main Page]